Cappadocia

Cappadocia is located in the heart of Anatolia . It has quite unique landscapes, classified by UNESCO as World Heritage since 1985. Cappadocia , was formed about 10 million years ago from the eruption in a surge of lava, mud and dust, of three volcanoes: Erciyes Dag, Hasan Dag and Göllü Dag. Continuous erosion of wind, rain and frost have then sculpted this unique landscape in what it is today, a magical place of cones, canyons, peaks and fairy chimeys that have never stopped fascinating people and sheltering them too. 

The history of Cappadocia, made of conquests, wars and successive invasions can be easily perceived thru its landscapes and remarkable treasures:underground churches, subterranean cities, caravanserais along the silk road…

The magnificence of the setting, particularly of Uchisar itself, is reinforced by the warmth and friendliness of the locals : the visitor is welcomed with a generosity that we in the West are no longer accustomed to. Children are precious and can wonder around without problem.

It needs to be said : Cappadocia is far removed from the geographic, social, and political turmoil that one generally associates with the southern borders of Turkey. Here, village life continues unperturbed in the rhythm of the seasons, and the cock’s morning crowing is the sole break in the calm.

Weather

The notion that the climate in Cappadocia is torrid and uncomfortable is quite simply wrong. Our climate is continental. In summer, the days are sunny and dry ; the evenings and nights generally cool, thanks to the 1300 m elevation of Uchisar.

The swing seasons can see rain and the evenings can be chilly. In winter, snow covers the valleys and the temperature is often below freezing. On the other hand, the average humidity of 35% means that the winter cold is a dry type, making outdoor exploration of the region possible.

Activities

Cappadocia is one of those places which charms every visitor. And Uchisar, which fortunately has been saved from the devastation of mass tourism, is unquestionably an ideal base to discover the region. Aficionados of history, religion and archaeology will find an inexhaustible source of delights there. Photographers will appreciate the extraordinary luminosity of deaybreak and approaching dusk, flooding luxurious landscapes. Antique and crafts lovers will relish the hunt for “treasures” in the village shops, taking pleasure in negotiating pillows, kilims and susani, etc., while sipping apple teas. Sportsmen will enjoy a morning jog in the Pigeon Valley, a horseback ride for a few hours or a few days, or may be decide to rent a bike or a quad. Cooks will visit the markets stalls of local producers as a prelude to trying out the local flavors in their fully-equipped kitchen. Children will play Indiana Jones, exploring fairy chimneys. And everyone will appreciate having time to slow down and simply do nothing, enjoying the scenery from the terrace!

La Cappadoce

La région de Cappadoce se situe au centre du plateau anatolien. Ses paysages caractéristiques et uniques au monde, classés au Patrimoine Mondial de l’Unesco depuis 1985, ont été formés il y a 10 millions d’années suite aux éruptions de trois volcans : Erciyes Dag, Hasan Dag et Göllü Dag. L’effet des changements climatiques successifs ont accéléré l’érosion des roches créant ainsi un enchevêtrement de plaines, vallées, canyons, cônes, pitons et cheminées de fée.

L’histoire de la Cappadoce, faite de conquêtes, de guerres et de dominations se découvre dans les paysages et ses trésors remarquables : églises creusées, villes souterraines, caravansérails sur la route de la soie…

Mais la richesse des lieux, et tout particulièrement d’Uchisar, tient également à la gentillesse et l’accueil de ses habitants : le voyageur étranger y est reçu avec des égards et une bienveillance naturels dépassant ce que l’on peut imaginer dans nos sociétés occidentales. Les enfants sont choyés et protégés pouvant aller et venir en toute sécurité.

En Cappadoce, la vie villageoise suit son cours au rythme des saisons et seul le chant du coq pourra éventuellement perturber vos nuits.

Climat

Le climat de Cappadoce est de type continental. Tentons d’éradiquer l’idée fausse d’un climat torride et insupportable : les journées d’été sont ensoleillées, chaudes et sèches, les soirées et les nuits fraîches. Situé sur un piton à 1300m d’altitude, Uchisar domine toute la région et bénéficie d’une brise appréciable. Sa situation en fait un des villages les plus agréables de la région.

Les saisons intermédiaires peuvent être arrosées et les soirées fraîches. En hiver, la neige recouvre les vallées ; les températures sont froides (souvent en deça des 0°C). En revanche, avec un taux d’humidité moyen autour de 35%, la sècheresse de l’air permet d’apprécier, bien couvert tout de même, la région.

Activités

La Cappadoce est un de ces lieux qui charme tout visiteur et Uchisar, heureusement épargné par les ravages du tourisme de masse, est sans conteste le meilleur ancrage pour découvrir la région. Les passionnés d’histoire, de religion et d’archéologie y trouveront une source inépuisable d’émerveillements. Les photographes apprécieront les premières et dernières lueurs du jour pour saisir la luminosité extraordinaire inondant les paysages somptueux. Les passionnés d’artisanat chineront chez l’antiquaire du village et prendront le temps de négocier coussins, kilims et susani en buvant de multiples thés. Les sportifs s’adonneront à un footing surplombant les vallées, sillonneront à pied ou à cheval les sentiers de randonnées pour se rendre d’un village à l’autre, parcourront les routes et chemins à vélo ou en quad… Les cuisiniers iront de marchés en marchés découvrir les étals colorés pour accommoder les saveurs locales dans leur cuisine équipée. Les enfants se prendront pour Indiana Jones en explorant les cheminées de fée. Et tout le monde appréciera de retrouver le temps : le temps de ne rien faire, de lire dans une chaise longue, d’être chez soi…tout simplement !