To choose Les Maisons de Cappadoce is to choose an original hotel experience synonymous with independence, intimacy and freedom.

History and concept

Les Maisons de Cappadoce were borne from the vision of a French architect, Jacques Avizou, who, back in the 90’s, fell in love with the beauty and the authenticity of the village of Uchisar, bought a summer house and adventurously and, perhaps, a little recklessly, undertook to restore the old part of the then neglected village. This pioneering work, carried out over a period of 20 years, was made possible thanks to a local, faithful, and dedicated team, trained in traditional architectural techniques. Jacques patiently transmitted his know-how of western construction techniques and requirements with the goal of reconciling tradition and modernity in an harmonious way.

Often copied but never equalled, the Maisons de Cappadoce propose unique places to unique visitors searching for an exceptional, off-the-beaten track experience.

During your stay with us, you won’t find flatbox Swedish furniture but locally made furniture, carpets, kilims and artifacts collected with care to enhance the distinctive details of each house. Only the kitchen equipment, the beds and the linen were imported for your greater comfort. During your stay at Les Maisons de Cappadoce, forget about schedules and dress code. You’re on Cappadocia time!

The team

We operate Les Maisons de Cappadoce in a family way. Our team is mostly staffed from the village, and have been with us since the beginning of the adventure.

Thoughtful, generous and devoted, Elif will welcome and assist you, so that you get the most of your house and stay in Cappadoce. You have a small handwritten note in your room upon arrival ? That’s Elif! You wish a particular service, a reservation of restaurant, hot air balloon flight, dervish show? Just talk to Elif!

The cleaningstaff in charge of your house will also discreetly deliver your breakfast basket in the evening, always with a smile. Fresh flowers of the garden upon your arrival? Et voilà !

Talking about breakfast, you will certainly become rapidly addicted to our home-made strawberry, orange, apricot, plum or peach jams made from local produce. Semra, who prepares them, will be hsppy to give you the recipes!

And to ensure that everything works perfectly, that flowers bloom in your garden, that wood burns in your fireplace and for so many other little things, Cengiz is never far away and always at hand.

We are here to help you!

By now, it may be obvious, but our main goal is to help make your stay unforgettable. Beyond offering you a magic place, we propose to assist you in many ways, such as:

• reserve your hot-air balloon flight with carefully selected, highly professional companies. Yes, it means early awakening, but we are sure that you will enjoy this unique experience, costly, yes, but such a magnificent experience;
• reserve a half-day walk with Mustafa, one of Uchisar’s best guides, to discover valleys and places beyond the tourist venues and thus help you understand the rich history of Cappadocia. Mustafa (and all our guides) speak not only Turkish, but English, French, Spanish or Italian. Mustafa is a story-teller and you will surely enjoy his company;
• reserve your car for delivery either at the airport or at your house;
• reserve a shuttle to or from the airport;
• reserve a horseback riding excursion with a serious and respectful company ;
• recommend 4 unmissable treks ;
• suggest the best restaurants in town ;
• -organize catered meals at your home ;
• -indicate our favorite small businesses and shops and antique dealers ;

This list is not exhaustive. So if you have any special needs, just come and see us, and we will do our best to point you in the right direction.

Choisir les Maisons de Cappadoce, c’est faire le choix d’une expérience hôtelière originale tournée vers une indépendance, une intimité et une liberté sans compromis.

Histoire et concept

Les Maisons de Cappadoce sont nées de la vision un peu folle d’un architecte français, Jacques Avizou, tombé amoureux de la beauté et de l’authenticité du village d’Uchisar au début des années 90, et qui a entrepris de restaurer la partie ancienne du village alors à l’abandon. Ce travail de pionnier, accompli sur près de 20 ans, a été effectué avec la complicité d’une équipe locale, fidèle, formée aux pratiques architecturales vernaculaires. Jacques a patiemment transmis son propre savoir-faire en matière de construction et d’exigences occidentales pour concilier harmonieusement tradition et modernité.

Souvent copié, jamais égalé, le concept des Maisons de Cappadoce est de proposer des lieux uniques aux visiteurs soucieux de vivre une expérience exceptionnelle.

Dans cette résidence qui sera la vôtre, pas de mobilier suédois standardisé mais des meubles localement fabriqués, des matériaux régionaux et des objets d’artisanat méticuleusement chinés et collectionnés pour mettre en valeur les caractéristiques des lieux. Seuls les matériels de cuisine, la literie et le linge de lit ont été importés pour votre plus grand confort. Chez nous…enfin, chez vous, pas d’horaires pour prendre votre petit-déjeuner, pas de tenue exigée non plus : ce sera dans votre maison, où et quand il vous plaira.

L’équipe

D’esprit familial, l’équipe des Maisons de Cappadoce est majoritairement issue du village et officie depuis les débuts de l’aventure.

Elif, attentionnée, généreuse et dévouée, vous accueillera, répondra à vos questions et apportera toute son aide pour que vous profitiez au mieux de votre séjour, de votre maison et de la région. Vous avez un petit mot personnalisé pour vous accueillir? C’est elle! Vous souhaitez un service particulier, une réservation de restaurant, de vol en ballon, d’un spectacle de derviches ? Passez voir Elif !

Les dames qui feront le ménage quotidien lorsque vous serez sortis et porteront discrètement le petit déjeuner en fin de journée sont discrètes et ont toujours le sourire. Des fleurs fraîches du jardin à votre arrivée ? Ce sont elles !

En parlant de petit-déjeuner, vous allez certainement succomber vous aussi à nos confitures maison faites avec les fruits du potager ou du marché : fraise, orange, abricot, prune, pêche… Là, c’est Semra que vous souhaiterez féliciter !

Pour que tout fonctionne à la perfection, pour l’entretien des résidences et des jardins, pour toujours avoir du bois dans la cheminée et tant d’autres choses, c’est Cengiz qui s’occupe de tout.

Nos coups de pouce

Vous l’aurez compris, nous cherchons tous à rendre votre séjour inoubliable. Alors, au-delà de vous apporter un lieu magique, nous vous proposons de :

• réserver votre vol en montgolfière auprès des prestataires les plus sérieux. Malgré le réveil matinal, l’expérience est unique et mérite sincèrement le coût élevé. Que ceux soumis au vertige soient rassurés, nous l’avons fait !
• réserver quelques heures avec Mustafa, le meilleur guide – à notre connaissance – pour arpenter les vallées, découvrir des lieux en marge des sentiers et comprendre la riche histoire régionale. Il parle turc (bien sûr !), anglais, français et italien… et a en plus beaucoup d’humour : excellentes journées garanties;
• réserver votre voiture à la descente de l’avion ou la faire venir à votre Maison;
• réserver vos places dans les navettes en provenance ou à destination de l’aéroport de/vers lequel vous volerez;
• réserver une journée d’équitation avec une société sérieuse et respectueuse de ses chevaux;
• vous présenter les itinéraires des 4 balades indispensables;
• vous conseiller les restaurants les plus sympas des environs, selon ce que vous recherchez;
• organiser des repas chez vous pour les soirs d’exception (service payant);
• vous indiquer nos boutiques d’artisanat et antiquaires préférés…

Cette liste n’étant pas exhaustive, passez nous voir, demandez nous ce qu’il vous plaira et nous ferons notre possible pour répondre à vos attentes.